School of Biological Sciences


Undergraduate

For a full list of undergraduate course coordinators for the School of Biological Sciences please see the list below.

Stage I course coordinators


Ms Caroline Aspden
BIOSCI 100 and BIOSCI 100G Antarctica: The Frozen Continent
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 89711
Email: c.aspden@auckland.ac.nz

Ms Amanda Harper
BIOSCI 101 Essential Biology: From Genomes to Organisms
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87794
Email: a.harper@auckland.ac.nz

Mr David Seldon
BIOSCI 102 Plants, Microbes & Society
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 84929
Email: d.seldon@auckland.ac.nz

Ms Amanda Harper and Ms Caroline Aspden
BIOSCI 103 Comparative Animal Biology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87794 or 89711
Email: a.harper@auckland.ac.nz and c.aspden@auckland.ac.nz
 

Associate Professor Rochelle Constantine
BIOSCI 104 and BIOSCI 104G New Zealand Ecology and Conservation
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85093
Email: r.constantine@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Julie McIntosh
BIOSCI 106 Foundations of Biochemistry
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 81234
Email: julie.mcintosh@auckland.ac.nz

Mrs Libby Hitchings
BIOSCI 106 Foundations of Biochemistry
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88703
Email: l.hitchings@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Suzanne Reid

BIOSCI 107 Biology for Biomedical Science: Cellular Processes & Development
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 89066
Email: s.reid@auckland.ac.nz

Top

Stage II course coordinators


Dr David Charles Goldstone
BIOSCI 201 Cellular and Molecular Biology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 84607
Email: d.goldstone@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Craig Millar
BIOSCI 202 Genetics
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85186
Email: cd.millar@auckland.ac.nz
 

Associate Professor Shaun Lott
BIOSCI 203 Biochemistry
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87074
Email: s.lott@auckland.ac.nz

Dr Augusto Simoes-Barbosa
BIOSCI 204 Principles of Microbiology
Phone: +64 9 3737599 ext 85087
Email: a.barbosa@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Karine David
BIOSCI 205 Plant, Cell and Environment
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83793
Email: k.david@auckland.ac.nz
 

Dr Gavin Lear
BIOSCI 206 Principles of Ecology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82573
Email: g.lear@auckland.ac.nz
 

Associate Professor Greg Holwell
BIOSCI 207 Adaptive Design
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83652
Email: g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz


Professor Mary Sewell
BIOSCI 208 Invertebrate Diversity
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83758
Email: m.sewell@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Steffen Klaere
BIOSCI 209 Biometry
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85237
Email: s.klaere@auckland.ac.nz
 

Dr Anna Santure
BIOSCI 210 Evolution and the Origins of Life
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83801
Email: a.santure@auckland.ac.nz

 

Top

Stage III course coordinators


Associate Professor Nicole Cloonan 
BIOINF 301 Introduction to Bioinformatics
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83441
Email: n.cloonan@auckland.ac.nz    

Associate Professor Greg Holwell
BIOSCI 320 Pure and Applied Entomology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83652
Email: g.holwell@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Matt Templeton 
BIOSCI 321 Plant Pathology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 88703
Email: m.templeton@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Shane Lavery
BIOSCI 322 Evolution of Genes, Populations and Species
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83764
Email: s.lavery@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Anne Gaskett 
BIOSCI 323 Plant Diversity
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 89509
Email: a.gaskett@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Neill Herbert
BIOSCI 328 Fisheries and Aquaculture
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83604
Email: n.herbert@auckland.ac.nz


Professor Kendall Clements
BIOSCI 329 Biology of Fish
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87223
Email: k.clements@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Richard Taylor
BIOSCI 330 Freshwater and Estuarine Ecology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83607
Email: rb.taylor@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Rochelle Constantine
BIOSCI 333 Marine Ecology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 85093
Email: r.constantine@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Tony Hickey
BIOSCI 335 Ecological Physiology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82615
Email: a.hickey@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Andy Allan
BIOSCI 340 Plant Cell Biology and Biotechnology
Phone: +64 9 3737599 ext 86631
Email: a.allan@auckland.ac.nz or
andrew.allan@plantandfood.co.nz
 

Associate Professor Mike Taylor
BIOSCI 347 Environmental Microbiology and Biotechnology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 82280
Email: mw.taylor@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Silas Villas-Boas
BIOSCI 348 Food and Beverage Microbiology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83762
Email: s.villas-boas@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Richard Kingston
BIOSCI 349 Biomedical Microbiology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 84414
Email: rl.kingston@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Shaun Lott
BIOSCI 350 Protein Structure and Function
Phone: +64 9 3737599 ext 87074
Email: s.lott@auckland.ac.nz


Professor Russell Snell
BIOSCI 351 Molecular Genetics
Phone: +64 9 3737599 ext 85059
Email: r.snell@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Christopher Squire
BIOSCI 353 Molecular and Cellular Regulation
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87237
Email: c.squire@auckland.ac.nz


Professor Jo Putterill
BIOSCI 354 Gene Expression and Gene Transfer
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 87233
Email: j.putterill@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Hilary Sheppard
BIOSCI 356 Developmental Biology and Cancer
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 81194
Email: h.sheppard@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Jennifer Miles-Chan 
BIOSCI 358 Nutritional Science
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 84322
Email: j.miles-chan@auckland.ac.nz


Associate Professor Jacqueline Beggs
BIOSCI 394 Conservation Ecology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 86823
Email: j.beggs@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Shane Wright

BIOSCI 395 Pacific Biogeography and Biodiversity
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 81775
Email: sd.wright@auckland.ac.nz


Dr Bruce Richard Burns
BIOSCI 396 Terrestrial Ecology
Phone: +64 9 373 7599 ext 83135
Email: b.burns@auckland.ac.nz

Top